Retrouvez les mesures en matière de lutte contre le coronavirus en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre sur www.liege.be/coronavirus

Green check
You are here: Home / Municipal life / International / International networks / The MAHHL Cities
Document Actions
News image - click to view full image

The MAHHL Cities

Since 1976, the Meuse-Rhine Euregion is a cross-border region that brings together three countries (Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands) as well as five sub-regions: the Belgian provinces of Limburg (761,500 inhabitants) and Liège (1,000,000 inhabitants), the southern part of the Dutch Limburg province (793,000 inhabitants), the Region of Aachen (1,200,000 inhabitants) and the German-speaking community in Belgium which joined the Euregion in June 1992, to become the 5th partner.

Within this framework, the cities of Maastricht, Aachen, Hasselt, Heerlen and Liège, called the M.A.H.H.L. cities, have regularly held meetings since 1989. In the beginning, these meetings were mainly between the mayors. Since 8th June 2001, the date on which the first Municipal Council common to all the five aforementioned cities took place at the European Parliament, the extent of cooperation has intensified. Consequently, many working groups have come into being.

Outside these groups, occasional collaboration takes place with regard to specific themes such as security, for example.