You are here: Home / Municipal life / International / Twinning and partnerships / Rotterdam [Netherlands]
Document Actions
News image - click to view full image

Rotterdam [Netherlands]

Origins of twinning

With the signature of the Treaties of Rome in 1957 (that established the European Economic Community, which came into force on 1st January 1958, and the  European Atomic Energy Community or Euratom, which came into force in 1967), a twinning agreement between cities from the six founding countries was signed in Liège, on 3rd July 1958, during the General Assembly of European Municipalities.

Description of the city

Rotterdam is a Dutch port city with a population of 588,576 habitants (and approximately 1,100,000 in the surrounding conurbation). The Rotterdam conurbation is part of the Randstad Holland conurbation (with 7,100,000 inhabitants between Amsterdam - Haarlem – The Hague - Dordrecht - Utrecht).

Rotterdam is the second city of the Netherlands after Amsterdam. It is the industrial heart of Holland and boasts an enviable geographical position at the mouth of the Rhine estuary. Maritime activity is predominant and it possesses port infrastructures stretching over 30 kilometres.

It is also a city of museums. A visit is essential to the Kunsthal Rotterdam which is devoted to both modern and classic art, as well as to the Boijmans van Beuningen Museum, the Fotomuseum, etc.